Spooktacular

spooktacular.jpg

Seeing that we don’t really celebrate Halloween too much here in Australia, I thought that it would be fun to turn the cute Faery Ink “Gabbie As Cinderella” digital stamp into a fun Birthday card for a friend’s October  Birthday.

I set myself a few challenges when creating this card. I wanted to use pastel rainbow hues in the hair, dark clothing and a completely random background…..

IMG_1042

Here is the pastel rainbow hair inspo courtesy of Buzzfeed.com. I used very pale Copic shades of pink, purple, blue, green and yellow paired with shades of grey for depth and movement. I found myself wanting to go darker and darker with the grey to give the card the dark halloween feel.

gabbyascinderella_pastelhair.jpg

I initially coloured the dress in dark grey shades but wasn’t loving the look so i decided to ‘dot’ over the whole surface for some texture. It looked much better after this step!! I also added some more dots using the Zig Wink Of Stella Grey pen which added some nice sparkle.

gabbyascinderella_dress.jpg

Now the background… I always struggle to pick papers to pull a whole card together. I am usually too ‘matchy matchy’ with my selection so I set myself a real challenge. I put a whole pile of random papers on the floor in front of me, closed my eyes, mixed them around and then picked 5 sheets to use as a background. I promised myself that I would use these 5 sheets no matter what they were! Boy it was hard for my orderly, matchy-matchy brain but I got there in the end!

spooktacular

I printed the sentiment using a lovely spooky font on card stock, tore the edges and then coloured it with Tim Holtz Vintage Photo ink pad. I then went on a hunt around the house for something that I could use to embellish the card. I hit the jackpot when I raided the medicine cabinet and found some gauze! Gauze + Halloween = Perfection

 

2 thoughts on “Spooktacular

Leave a Reply

