The Cat’s Whiskers

the cats whiskers angle w.jpg

Hello again! Can you believe it is September again! Time for another fab challenge over at All Dressed Up Digital Stamps. This time the theme is pretty pastels. I have chosen this cute image called ‘The Cat’s Whiskers’. Such a sweet stamp that is really versatile.

I decided to get my Inktense pencils out this time. I forgot how fun it was to play with watercolour paper and these amazing pencils. I applied the colours by dipping my paint brush in water, touching it across the tip of the pencil and applying straight to the watercolour paper. Once I finished this, I added some texture with white gesso and a stiff dry brush. The bow was done with a silver Wink Of Stella pen. I finished up by adding a little more depth to the cat with by Prisma pencils. I can never resist the beautiful, vibrant result they offer.

I struggled to find the right background paper for this image so I decided to make by own by scribbling with my Neocolour II crayons and then messing it all up with a watery brush. Gee its fun being messy. The neocolours are super bright so I toned it all down with some more gesso. The end result is a mixed media card. Something very different for me but very fun to do.

Have you every had a play with Inktense or Neocolour crayons? Leave me a comment with the details!!! Would love to see some inspiration!!

the cats whiskers angle 2 w

Leave a Reply

